Managing Board

PD Dr. Christina Meyer (president)
Dr. Lukas R.A. Wilde (vice president)
Vanessa Ossa (treasurer)
Introduction of the managing board members
Contakt

Introduction of the new ComFor Managing Comittee

During ComFor’s online members’ meeting on 31 July, 2020, the new managing comittee that had previously been elected via postal vote was confirmed.

The previous comitee members Stephan Packard (president since 2013) and Véronique Sina (vice president since 2018) did not run for another term. We would like to thank both of them for their dedication and the many valuable contributions they have made!

The new managing comittee consists of:

President

PD Dr. Christina Meyer has been a ComFor member since 2010. She is an American Studies scholar with a research focus on American newspaper comics of the late 19th century. She is currently visiting professor at the John F. Kennedy Institute for North American Studies at the FU Berlin. In November 2019 her monograph Producing Mass Entertainment: The Serial Life of the Yellow Kid was published by the Ohio State University Press (see publisher’s website), which was nominated for the 2020 Eisner Award in the category “Best Academic/Scholarly Work.” She is co-editor of New Perspectives on American Comic Books and Graphic Novels (a special issue of the journal Amerikastudien / American Studies, 2011) and Transnational Perspectives on Graphic Narratives: Comics at the Crossroads (2013). For more information, please see her ComFor profile page.

 

Vice President

Dr. Lukas R.A. Wilde has been a ComFor member since September 2012 and was in charge of the coordination of the ComFor website for many years. In 2018, he first joined the ComFor managing comittee as treasurer. He works in the field of media studies at the University of Tuebingen, where he submitted his Ph.D. thesis on the ‘mangaization’ of public spaces in Japan and the implementation of transmedial figures (kyara) in functional communication (Im Reich der Figuren, Cologne 2018), which was honored with the Roland-Faelske-Award. Moreover, he supports Eve Jay in the organisation of Comic Solidarity (see Website) and is one of the initiators of the German Inclusive Comic Award of the Independent Scene GINCO (see Website). Together with Vanessa Ossa and Jan-Noël Thon, he organizes the 15th annual ComFor conference (8-10 Oktober, 2020) on „Comics and Agency“. For more information, please see his ComFor profile page.

 

Treasurer

Vanessa Ossa has been a ComFor member since 2017, and has been responsible for the website category “Call for Papers” as part of the online editorial team since 2019. Together with Jan-Noël Thon and Lukas R.A. Wilde, she organizes this year’s annual conference “Comics & Agency: Actors, Publics, Participation.” She concluded her doctoral thesis “Sleeping Threats—The Sleeper Agent in Post-9/11 Media” at the collaborative research center “Threatened Order—Societies under Stress” at the university of Tuebingen in 2019. The thesis covers the figure of the ‘sleeper’ in US cinema, serial television, and comic books. Currently, she is a Postdoctoral Research Associate at the Department for Media Culture and Theater at the University of Cologne. Her most recent research interests include comic book fandom and participatory practice as a part of comic book culture. For more information, please see her ComFor profile page.

ComFor’s New Managing Committee:

As of April 27, 2017, ComFor has elected a new Managing Committee for the next two years.

After four and a half years, Dr. Catherine Michel and Dr. Felix Giesa had decided to conclude their tenures. Both our colleagues have supported and contributed to the reform of ComFor, newly founded as a public society in 2014, as well as to the decisive expansion of ComFor’s projects and services during that time. All of ComFor’s members owe them a great debt of gratitude; Stephan Packard, their colleague in the steering committee, would like to extend his special thanks for the productive and friendly work we did together.

The new management includes:

President:

Prof. Dr. Stephan Packard joined ComFor in 2008 and has been its President since its new establishment as a public society in 2012. He organised and edited several of the society’s conferences and publications. He is a founding member of the Committee for Comics Studies at the German Society for Media Studies (GfM) as well as a Consultative Committee Member for the journal European Comic Art. His PhD thesis Anatomie des Comics was published in 2006. Further research interests include transmedia narratology, political uses of comics and other media, and the study of censorship. Packard holds the Professorship for „Popular Culture and Its Theory“ at Cologne University. Read more at his ComFor-profile page.

Vice President:

Dr. Véronique Sina has been a member of ComFor since July 2010. She is a media studies scholar at the University of Cologne and specialises in Gender and Queer Studies, Intersectionality, Intermediality, and Identity Studies. She received her Bachelor and Master of Arts degrees as well as her PhD at Ruhr University Bochum. Her dissertation at the Department of Media Studies was published as Comic – Film – Gender. The (Re-)Mediation of Gender in Comic Book Movies (transcript, 2016). She is Co-Founder of the Committee for Comic Studies (AG Comicforschung) of the German Society for Media Studies (GfM), for which she also serves as Chairwoman and as organizer of numerous workshops and events. For ComFor, she appears in 2018 as a co-organizer of the 13th Annual Conference on comics studies, on „Spaces Between – Gender, Diversity and Identity in Comics“. More information at her ComFor-profile page.

Treasurer:

Dr. Lukas R.A. Wilde has been a member of ComFor since September 2012, and he has been coordinating ComFor’s editorial work online ever since: ComFor’s homepage underwent a major transformation during this time, and ComFor’s online magazine has become a steadily growing contact point and a source of information on conferences, publications, CfPs and other news from our field. In this context, Lukas Wilde also manages ComFor’s mailing list and the online profiles of its members. He is a media studies scholar at the University of Tübingen, where he received his PhD in 2017 through a dissertation on the ‚mangaization‘ of Japanese public spaces and the implementation of transmedial ‚characters‘ (kyara) within functional communication (Im Reich der Figuren, Cologne 2018). Together with Vanessa Ossa and Jan-Noël Thon, he will organize ComFor’s planned 15th Annual Conference in 2020 on „Comic/Mediation: Actors, Participation, and the Public“. Read more at his ComFor-profile page.

Vorstand

PD Dr. Christina Meyer (1. Vorsitzende)
Dr. Lukas R.A. Wilde (2. Vorsitzender)
Vanessa Ossa (Schatzmeister)
Weiter zur Vorstellung des Vorstands
Kontakt

Vorstellung des neuen ComFor-Vorstands

Während der digitalen Mitgliederversammlung der Gesellschaft für Comicforschung am 31. Juli 2020 wurde der zuvor per Briefwahl gewählte neue Vorstand bestätigt.

Die vorherigen Vorstandsmitglieder Stephan Packard und Véronique Sina haben nicht erneut kandidiert.
Während seiner siebenjährigen Zeit als 1. Vorsitzender war Stephan Packard 2014 Gründungsvorsitzender der neu gegründeten Gesellschaft für Comicforschung e.V. und hat an zahlreichen Publikationen und Veranstaltungen der ComFor mitgewirkt. Im November 2019 richtete er gemeinsam mit Christian Bachmann, Juliane Blank und Alexandra Hentschel die 14. ComFor-Jahrestagung zum Thema „Aspekte der Comickomparatistik“ im Erika-Fuchs-Haus in Schwarzenbach an der Saale aus.
Véronique Sina war seit 2018 2. Vorsitzende der ComFor und ebenfalls durch zahlreiche Publikationen und Vorträge stets präsent. Im September 2018 richtete sie gemeinsam mit Nina Eckhoff-Heindl die 13. ComFor-Jahrestagung zum Thema „Zwischenräume – Geschlecht, Diversität und Identität im Comic“ an der Universität Köln aus und übersah als Mitherausgeberin die Publikation des kürzlich dazu erschienenen Tagungsbands. Außerdem stieß sie 2019 die Gründung der Diversity Initiative an.
Wir danken Stephan Packard und Véronique Sina herzlich für ihr Engagement in der ComFor und für den wichtigen Beitrag, den sie durch ihre Arbeit geleistet haben!

Der neue ComFor Vorstand besteht aus:

1. Vorsitzende

PD Dr. Christina Meyer ist seit 2010 Mitglied in der ComFor. Sie ist Amerikanistin mit einem Forschungsschwerpunkt auf amerikanischen Zeitungscomics des späten 19. Jahrhunderts. Zur Zeit ist sie Gastprofessorin für amerikanische Kultur am John F. Kennedy-Institut für Nordamerikastudien der Freien Universität Berlin. Ihr für den Eisner Award 2020 in der Kategorie „Best Academic/Scholarly Work“ nominiertes Buch Producing Mass Entertainment: The Serial Life of the Yellow Kid ist im November 2019 bei der Ohio State University Press erschienen (zur Verlagsseite). Sie ist Mitherausgeberin von New Perspectives on American Comic Books und Graphic Novels (eine Sonderausgabe der Zeitschrift Amerikastudien / American Studies, 2011) und Transnational Perspectives on Graphic Narratives: Comics at the Crossroads (2013). Mehr Informationen auf ihrer ComFor-Profilseite.

 

2. Vorsitzender

Dr. Lukas R.A. Wilde ist ComFor-Mitglied seit September 2012 und koordinierte über viele Jahre die Redaktionsarbeit der Gesellschaft für Comicforschung. 2018 wurde er in den Vorstand der ComFor gewählt, wo er zunächst als Schatzmeister tätig war. Von Haus aus ist er Medienwissenschaftler an der Universität Tübingen, wo er eine Roland-Faelske-prämierte Dissertation zur ‚Mangaisierung‘ öffentlicher Räume in Japan und der Implementierung von transmedialen ‚Figuren‘ (kyara) in funktionaler Kommunikation vorlegte (Im Reich der Figuren, Köln 2018). Außerdem unterstützt er Eve Jay in der Programmgestaltung der Comic Solidarity (zur Website) und fungiert als einer der Initiator_innen des inklusiven deutschen Comic- und Manga-Awards GINCO (zur Website). Gemeinsam mit Vanessa Ossa und Jan-Noël Thon bildet er das Organisator_innenteam der 15. ComFor-Jahrestagung (8.-10. Oktober 2020) zum Thema „Comics und Agency – Akteur*innen, Öffentlichkeiten, Partizipation“. Mehr Informationen auf seiner ComFor-Profilseite.

 

Schatzmeisterin

Vanessa Ossa ist seit 2017 ComFor-Mitglied und seit Ende 2019 in der Web-Redaktion für die Rubrik Call for Papers verantwortlich. Gemeinsam mit Jan-Noël Thon und Lukas R.A. Wilde organisiert sie die diesjährige ComFor-Jahrestagung zum Thema „Comics & Agency: Actors, Publics, Participation“. 2019 hat sie im Tübinger SFB „Bedrohte Ordnungen“ ihr Dissertationsprojekt „Sleeping Threats—The Sleeper Agent in Post-9/11 Media“ abgeschlossen. Die Arbeit behandelt die Figur des ‚Schläfers‘ in US-amerikanischen Filmen, Fernsehserien und Comics nach 9/11. Derzeit arbeitet sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Medienkultur und Theater der Universität zu Köln und ihre aktuelle Forschung befasst sich unter anderem mit Comicfans und partizipativen Praktiken im Bereich der populären Comickultur. Mehr Informationen auf ihrer ComFor-Profilseite.

Vorstellung des neuen ComFor-Vorstands

Auf der Großen Mitgliederversammlung am 27. April 2018 hat die Gesellschaft für Comicforschung einen neuen Vorstand gewählt.

Nach viereinhalb Jahren im Vorstand haben Dr. Catherine Michel und Dr. Felix Giesa nicht erneut kandidiert. Beide haben die Umwandlung der ComFor in einen gemeinnützigen Verein 2014 und die Einführung der zahlreichen neuen Projekte und Angebote der ComFor in den letzten Jahren begleitet und möglich gemacht. Die gesamte ComFor ist ihnen dafür zu großem Dank verpflichtet; Stephan Packard als ihr Kollege im Vorstand möchte sich ganz besonders für die angenehme und produktive Zusammenarbeit bedanken.

Der ComFor-Vorstand besteht aus:

1. Vorsitzender:

Prof. Dr. Stephan Packard ist seit 2008 Mitglied der ComFor und Gründungsvorsitzender der 2014 neu gegründeten Gesellschaft für Comicforschung e.V.. Er hat mehrere Tagungen und Publikationen der ComFor versehen und ist außerdem Gründungsmitglied der AG Comicforschung der Gesellschaft für Medienwissenschaft (GfM) und Consultative Committee Member der Zeitschrift European Comic Art. Seine Dissertation Anatomie des Comics erschien 2006. Weitere Forschungsschwerpunkte betreffen die transmediale Narratologie, den politischen Gebrauch von Comics und anderen Medien sowie die Zensurforschung. Packard ist Medienwissenschaftler und hat an der Universität zu Köln die Professur für „Kulturen und Theorien des Populären“ inne.  Mehr Informationen auf der ComFor-Profilseite.

2. Vorsitzende:

Dr. Véronique Sina ist seit Juli 2010 Mitglied der ComFor. Von Haus aus ist sie Medienwissenschaftlerin an der Universität zu Köln und ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Gender- und Queer Studies, der Intersektionalitäts-, Intermedialitäts- und Identitätsforschung. An der Ruhr-Universität Bochum hat sie ihren Bachelor und Master of Arts gemacht und wurde am dortigen Institut für Medienwissenschaft mit der Dissertation Comic – Film – Gender. Zur (Re-)Medialisierung von Geschlecht im Comicfilm (transcript, 2016) promoviert. Sie ist Mitbegründerin der AG Comicforschung der Gesellschaft für Medienwissenschaft (GfM), die sie seither auch als Sprecherin und Organisatorin zahlreicher Veranstaltungen vertritt. Für die ComFor tritt sie zudem 2018 als Mit-Veranstalterin und -Organisatorin der 13. Jahrestagung zum Thema „Zwischenräume – Geschlecht, Diversität und Identität im Comic“ auf. Mehr Informationen auf der ComFor-Profilseite.

Schatzmeister:

Dr. Lukas R.A. Wilde ist ComFor-Mitglied seit September 2012 und koordiniert seither die Redaktionsarbeit der Gesellschaft für Comicforschung: Die Homepage der ComFor erfuhr in dieser Zeit eine weitreichende Umgestaltung. Das Online-Magazin konnte sich zu einer stetig wachsenden Anlaufstelle für Informationen zu Konferenzen, Publikationen, CfPs und anderen Neuigkeiten aus unserem Forschungsbereich weiterentwickeln. In diesem Zusammenhang verwaltet Lukas Wilde auch die ComFor-Mailingliste und die Online-Profile aller Mitglieder. Von Haus aus ist er Medienwissenschaftler an der Universtät Tübingen, wo er im Jahr 2017 eine Dissertation zur ‚Mangaisierung‘ öffentlicher Räume in Japan und der Implementierung von transmedialen ‚Figuren‘ (kyara) in funktionaler Kommunikation abschloss (Im Reich der Figuren, Köln 2018). Gemeinsam mit Vanessa Ossa und Jan-Noël Thon bildet er das Organisator_innenteam der geplanten 15. ComFor-Jahrestagung 2020 zum Thema „Comic/Mediation: Akteure, Öffentlichkeiten, Partizipation“. Mehr Informationen auf der ComFor-Profilseite.